MENÜ

Geology of the Swabian Alb

The Swabian Alb runs right across the south of Germany from the Hochrhein in the southwest to the Nördlinger Ries in the northeast. Where you now see mountains up to 1000 m in height forming the central part of the Jura mountain range stretching from Switzerland to Franconia, there used to be a tropical sea in primeval times. This sea ebbed and flowed and had coral reefs, extensive beaches, palm ferns and gingko trees. This is the beginning of the exciting story of the Swabian Alb which takes us back to the end of the Keuper period 200 million years ago.

The deposits of Lower (earlier Black), Middle (earlier Brown) and Upper (earlier White) Jurassic (200 – 140 million years ago) date back to the period when the Alb region was still covered with seawater and it is these deposits which have mainly contributed to the formation of the Swabian Alb. The Alb has Geopark Swabian Alb - experience the Earth‘s history live been a land mass since the end of the Jurassic.

Its history continues to be turbulent however: erosion during the Cretaceous (140 - 65 million years ago), volcanic eruptions and the impact of a meteorite during the Tertiary (65 – 2.6 million years ago) have all contributed to the forming of the landscape. After that, the rain and groundwater eroded the limestone of the Jura. It dissolved the limestone and so created the region with the most caves in Germany. Some caves on the Alb were inhabited during the Ice Age and the oldest known artworks created by humans − dating back almost 40,000 years − have been found here in recent years.

But every period of the last 200 million years has its own stories to tell so we had best start at the beginning. We‘ll start with the Keuper period…

MENÜ

Die Geologie der Schwäbischen Alb

Quer durch Süddeutschland erstreckt sich vom Hochrhein im Südwesten bis zum Nördlinger Ries im Nordosten die Schwäbische Alb. Dort, wo sich heute das bis zu 1000 m hohe Gebirge als Mittelteil des von der Schweiz bis Franken hinziehenden Jurariegels erhebt, wogte vor Urzeiten ein tropisches Meer mit Korallenriffen, weitläufigen Stränden, Palmfarnen und Ginkgobäumen. Damit beginnt die spannende Geschichte der Schwäbischen Alb, die uns bis zum Ende der Keuperzeit vor 200 Mio. Jahren zurückführt.

Aus der Zeit, als das Gebiet der Alb noch von Wasser bedeckt war, stammen auch die Ablagerungen des Unter- (früher Schwarzer), Mittel- (früher Brauner) und Oberjura ( früher Weißer Jura) von vor 200 - 140 Mio. Jahren, aus welchen die Schwäbische Alb zum größten Teil aufgebaut ist. Seit dem Ende der Jurazeit ist die Alb landfest.

Ihre Geschichte bleibt aber weiter turbulent: Abtragung während der Kreidezeit (vor 140 - 65 Mio. Jahren), Vulkanausbrüche und ein Meteoriteneinschlag während des Tertiärs (vor 65 – 2,6 Mio. Jahren) prägen das Bild. Danach machte sich über die Jahrtausende das Regen- und Grundwasser an den Kalksteinen des Jura zu schaffen. Es löste den Kalk und schuf so die höhlenreichste Region Deutschlands. Einige Höhlen der Alb waren in der Eiszeit bewohnt und die ältesten Kunstwerke der Menschheit – knapp 40.000 Jahre alt – wurde hier in den letzten Jahren gefunden.

Aber jeder Zeitabschnitt der letzten 200 Mio. Jahre hat so viele eigene Geschichten zu erzählen, dass wir am besten vorne beginnen. Los geht es mit dem Keuper