MENÜ

Swabian Alb - UNESCO Global Geopark

What is a Geopark?
The term Geopark is a label for areas that have a particularly rich geological heritage. Geoparks are still a relatively young movement that emerged around the turn of the millennium.

2002: The Swabian Alb was designated a National Geopark.
2004: The Swabian Alb was designated a European and Global Geopark.
2015: The Swabian Alb was designated a UNESCO Global Geopark - the only one in the federal state of Baden-Württemberg.

And what is a UNESCO Global Geopark?
161 landscapes worldwide are allowed to carry this highest quality seal for landscapes, which is awarded by UNESCO. This designation impliess great potential, but also great responsibility.

UNESCO Geoparks have existed since 2015. Since then, the six UNESCO Global Geoparks in Germany have made great strides towards becoming model regions for sustainable development. Based on the history of earth and mankind, they face the social challenges of the present with holistic concepts for education, protection and sustainable development. These include climate change and the finiteness of natural (especially geological) resources. They develop plans and projects together with the residents of their regions and exchange ideas with their partners around the world as part of their international activities. This makes them an ideal platform for the implementation of the 17 global sustainability goals of the United Nations. Two brochures by the German UNESCO Commission clearly illustrates these goals and visions:
Swabian Alb UNESCO Global Geopark and the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.
UNESCO Global Geoparks - From geological heritage to a sustainable future.

Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) plays a key role here. With the adoption of the Global Sustainability Agenda, the world community has committed itself to ensuring high quality, inclusive and equitable education for people around the world for a lifetime by 2030. More information on the 17 SDGs (Sustainable Development Goals) and the Agenda 2030 can be found here.

UNESCO Geoparks create sustainable options for the future in their region. In addition, they are linked across regional borders by a global network.

Powerful network – an overview
In Europe there are 81 UNESCO Global Geoparks in 26 countries. They are organized in the EGN (European Geoparks Network) network. It will celebrate its 20th anniversary in 2020. There are 161 UNESCO Global Geoparks worldwide. They are organized in the GGN (Global Geoparks Network) network.

There are two relevant organizations in Germany.
Forum of Global Geoparks:
Members are the six UNESCO Global Geoparks. Its task is to promote the Geopark idea and the geosciences, to give recommendations for the nomination of new UNESCO Global Geoparks and to support them in the development of concepts.
Association of German Geoparks (AdG):
It represents the interests of all currently 16 geoparks (not all of them have been awarded by UNESCO). The "National Geopark" rating is awarded by the GeoUnion expert group of the Alfred Wegener Foundation; The working group of the National Geoparks (AdG) has been legally anchored with rules of procedure in the Geotopes and Geoparks section of the German Society for Geology - Geological Association (DGGV) since April 2016.

MENÜ

Schwäbische Alb - ein UNESCO Global Geopark

Was ist ein Geopark?
Der Begriff Geopark ist ein Prädikat für Gebiete, die über ein besonders reichhaltiges geologisches Erbe verfügen. Geoparks sind noch eine relative junge Bewegung, die um die Jahrtausendwende entstand.

2002: Die Schwäbische Alb wurde zum Nationalen Geopark ernannt.
2004: Die Schwäbische Alb wurde als Europäischer und Globaler Geopark ausgezeichnet.
2015: Die Schwäbische Alb wurde als UNESCO Global Geopark ausgezeichnet - der einzige in Baden-Württemberg.

Und was ist ein UNESCO Global Geopark?
161 Landschaften weltweit dürfen dieses höchste Qualitätssiegel für Landschaften tragen, das von der UNESCO verliehen wird. Damit ist ein großes Potential, aber auch eine große Verantwortung verbunden.

UNESCO-Geoparks gibt es seit 2015. Seitdem haben die sechs UNESCO Global Geoparks in Deutschland große Fortschritte hin zu Modellregionen für nachhaltige Entwicklung erzielt. Ausgehend von der Erd- und Menschheitsgeschichte stellen sie sich mit ganzheitlichen Konzepten zu Bildung, Schutz und nachhaltiger Entwicklung den gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen der Gegenwart. Dazu zählen Klimawandel und die Endlichkeit natürlicher (insbesondere geologischer) Ressourcen. Ihre Vorhaben und Projekte gestalten sie gemeinsam mit den Bewohnern ihrer Regionen und tauschen sich dazu im Rahmen ihrer internationalen Aktivitäten mit ihren Partnern in aller Welt aus. Damit stellen sie eine ideale Plattform für die Umsetzung der 17 Globalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen dar. Eine Broschüre der Deutschen UNESCO Kommission verdeutlicht diese Ziele und Visionen eindrucksvoll.

Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE) spielt hierbei eine Schlüsselrolle. Mit der Verabschiedung der Globalen Nachhaltigkeitsagenda hat sich die Weltgemeinschaft dazu verpflichtet, bis 2030 eine hochwertige, inklusive und chancengerechte Bildung für Menschen weltweit und ein Leben lang sicherzustellen. Mehr Infos zu den 17 SDGs (Sustainable Development Goals) und die Agenda 2030 finden Sie hier.

UNESCO-Geoparks gestalten tragfähige Zukunftsoptionen in ihrer Region. Darüber hinaus verbindet sie über die regionalen Grenzen hinaus ein globales Netzwerk, zu dem auch der UNESCO Global Geopark Schwäbische Alb gehört.

Starkes Netzwerk - ein Überblick
In Europa gibt es 81 UNESCO Global Geoparks in 26 Ländern. Sie sind im Netzwerk EGN (European Geoparks Network) organisiert. Es feiert 2020 sein 20jähriges Bestehen. Weltweit gibt es 161 UNESCO Global Geoparks. Sie sind im Netzwerk GGN (Global Geoparks Network) organisiert.

In Deutschland gibt es zwei relevante Organisationen.
Forum der Globalen Geoparks:
Mitglieder sind die sechs UNESCO Global Geoparks. Es hat die Aufgabe, die Geoparkidee und die Geowissenschaften zu fördern, Empfehlungen bei der Nominierung neuer UNESCO Global Geoparks zu geben und diese bei der Erarbeitung von Konzepten zu unterstützen.
Arbeitsgemeinschaft deutscher Geoparks:
Sie ist die Interessensvertretung aller derzeit 16 Geoparks (nicht alle davon sind von der UNESCO ausgezeichnet). Das Prädikat „Nationaler Geopark“ wird von der Expertengruppe der GeoUnion der Alfred-Wegener Stiftung vergeben; rechtlich verankert ist die Arbeitsgruppe der Nationalen Geoparks (AdG) mit einer Geschäftsordnung in der Fachsektion Geotope und Geoparks der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Geologie - Geologische Vereinigung (DGGV) seit April 2016.